ANNUAL COUNCIL

Tuesday 14 May 2019

Present:-

Councillor Rob Hannaford (Lord Mayor) Councillor Rachel Lyons (Deputy Lord Mayor) Councillors Atkinson, Begley, Bialyk, Branston, Buswell, Foale, Foggin, Ghusain, Harvey, D Henson, Mrs Henson, Holland, Lamb, Leadbetter, Mitchell, K, Mitchell, M, Moore, D, Moore, J, Morse, Oliver, Owen, Packham, Pattison, Pearson, Pierce, Quance, A, Quance, I, Sheldon, Sills, Sutton, Vizard, Wardle, Warwick, Williams, Wood and Wright

Apology

Councillor Newby

1

RECORDER

RESOLVED that His Honour Judge Peter Johnson QC be formally installed as Recorder of the City.

His Honour Judge Johnson welcomed his appointment and returned thanks.

2

ELECTION OF THE LORD MAYOR

RESOLVED on the nomination of Councillor Leadbetter, seconded by Councillor Owen, that Councillor Peter Holland be elected Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Lord Mayor was invested with his Robe and Chain of Office, made his Declaration of Acceptance of Office, took the Chair and returned thanks.

3

APPOINTMENT OF THE DEPUTY LORD MAYOR

RESOLVED on the nomination of Councillor Pierce, seconded by Councillor Bialyk, that Councillor Yolonda Henson be appointed Deputy Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Deputy Lord Mayor was invested with her Robe and Chain of Office, made her Declaration of Acceptance of Office and returned thanks.

4

VOTE OF THANKS

RESOLVED that the Council record its appreciation for the able and courteous manner in which Councillor Rob Hannaford and Councillor Olwen Foggin have discharged the duties of the Lord Mayor and Lord Mayor's Consort during the past year.

Councillor Wright, on behalf of the Council, presented a badge to the retiring Lord Mayor.

The retiring Lord Mayor returned thanks.

RESOLVED that the Council record its appreciation for the able and courteous manner in which Councillor Rachel Lyons and Mrs C Raybould-Gooding have discharged the duties of Deputy Lord Mayor and Deputy Lord Mayor's Consort during the past year.

The retiring Deputy Lord Mayor returned thanks.

5 ELECTION OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL AND CONFIRMATION OF THE DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Councillor Bialyk was appointed as Leader of the Council. Councillor Bialyk confirmed the appointment of Councillor Sutton as Deputy Leader.

RESOLVED that Councillor Bialyk be elected as Leader of the Council and Councillor Sutton as Deputy Leader.

6

APPOINTMENT OF THE EXECUTIVE AND PORTFOLIO HOLDERS

The Leader of the Council confirmed his nominations for Portfolio Holders and Executive membership as circulated.

RESOLVED that the Council's Executive be appointed as follows for the ensuing Municipal Year:-

Councillor	Portfolio or Group
Bialyk, P.M.	Leader
Sutton, R.H.	Deputy Leader, Climate and Culture
Morse, E.A.	Supporting People
Wright, L.	Council Housing Development and Services
Harvey, D.J.	Environment and City Management
Foale, B.	City Development and Planning
Pearson, O.	Leisure and Physical Activity
Ghusain, A.	Equalities, Diversity and Communities
Leadbetter, A.R.	Conservative
Mitchell, K.J.	Progressive

7

APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES

Alternative options were submitted by the Labour Group and the Conservative and Progressive Groups combined in respect of the Chairs and Deputy Chairs of Scrutiny Committee - Place, Scrutiny Committee - People, Scrutiny Committee - Corporate Services and the Audit and Governance Committee. A vote was taken on the nominations.

RESOLVED that the membership of Committees etc, Chairs and Deputy Chairs and Independent Persons, as shown at the Appendix to these minutes, be approved.

(The meeting commenced at 7.00 pm and closed at 8.21 pm)

Minute Item 7

EXECUTIVE, SCRUTINY AND OTHER COMMITTEES: 2019/20

EXECUTIVE (10)

Bialyk, P.M. (Leader) Sutton, R.H. (Deputy Leader) Foale, B. Ghusain, A. Harvey, D.J. Morse, E.A. Pearson, O. Wright, L. Leadbetter A.R. Mitchell, K.J.

PORTFOLIO HOLDERS (8)

Bialyk, P.M. Sutton, R.H. Morse, E.A. Wright, L. Harvey, D J. Foale, B. Pearson, O. Ghusain, A. Leader Deputy Leader, Climate & Culture Supporting People Council Housing Development & Services Environment & City Management City Development & Planning Leisure and Physical Activity Equalities, Diversity & Communities

MEMBER CHAMPIONS

Oliver, T. Sheldon, G.N. Wood, D. Champion for Equality and Diversity Champion for EX1 (Internal Transformation) Champion for Support Services

SCRUTINY - CORPORATE SERVICES (10)

Sheldon, G.N. (Chair) Buswell, C. (Deputy Chair) Hannaford, R.M. Henson, Y.A.C. Moore, D.F. Mitchell, M.N. Lamb, R. Quance, A.A. Vizard, M. Warwick, S.

SCRUTINY - PEOPLE (10)

Vizard, M. (Chair) Wardle, A. J. (Deputy Chair) Begley, J. Foggin, O. A. Moore, J.M. Newby, R. Oliver, T. Pattison, J. Pierce, C. Quance, I.

SCRUTINY - PLACE (10)

Sills, L.S. (Chair) Buswell, C. (Deputy Chair) Atkinson, Y.M. Henson, D.J. Lyons, R.C. Moore, D.F. Moore, J.M. Owen, K. Pattison, J. Williams, R.T.

PLANNING COMMITTEE (13)

Lyons, R.C. (Chair) Williams, R.T. (Deputy Chair) Bialyk, P.M. Branston, R. Foale, B. Ghusain, A. Harvey, D.J. Henson, Mrs Y.A.C. Mitchell, M.N. Morse, E.A. Pierce, C. Sheldon, G.N. Sutton R.H.

PLANNING MEMBER WORKING GROUP (7)

Williams, R.T. (Chair) Bialyk, P.M. Harvey, D.J. Henson, Mrs Y.A.C. Foale, B. Moore, D.F. Lyons, R.C. (Chair of Planning Committee)

MAJOR GRANTS PANEL (4)

Bialyk, P.M. (Chair) Ghusain, A. Leadbetter, A.R. Sutton, R.H.

LEISURE COMPLEX AND BUS STATION PROGRAMME BOARD (7)

(Currently 5 Labour, 1 Conservative and 1 Progressive Group - politically balanced in accordance with the necessary proportionality requirements)

Bialyk, P.M. (Chair) Sutton, R.H. Foale, B. Harvey, D.J. Pearson, O. Henson, Mrs Y.A.C. Mitchell, M.N.

EXETER STRATEGIC BOARD (14)

(5 City Councillors)

Bialyk, P.M. Ghusain, A. Pierce, C.

Ackland, H. Asvachin, M. Atkinson, Y.M. Aves, S. Brennan, E. Hannaford, R.M.

Sutton, R.H.

Williams, R.T.

Leadbetter, A.R. Prowse, G.R. Whitton, M.C.

(9 County Councillors)

EXETER STRATEGIC BOARD FUNDING SUB GROUP (7)

(3 City Councillors)

Bialyk, P.M. Ghusain, A. Sutton, R.H.

(4 County Councillors – to be agreed at the Board)

LICENSING COMMITTEE (13)

Owen, K. (Chair) Buswell, C. (Deputy Chair) Begley, J. Branston, R. Henson, D.J. Mitchell, K.J. Newby, R.C. Oliver, T. Quance, I. Vizard, M. Warwick, S. Wright, L. Wood, D.

LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE (3)

Licensing Sub-Committee membership to be drawn from Licensing Committee Members above.

AUDIT AND GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE (11)

Wardle, A.J. (Chair) Atkinson, Y.M. (Deputy Chair) Hannaford, R.M. Henson, D.J. Henson Mrs, Y.A.C. Mitchell, M.N. Lamb, R. Foggin, O.A. Pattison, J. Sheldon, G.N. Warwick, S.

INDEPENDENT PERSONS

Mr I Brooking and Professor B. Kirby appointed as Independent Persons to assist the Council in promoting and maintaining high standards of conduct amongst its Elected Members.

STRATA JOINT EXECUTIVE COMMITEE (3 - 1 FROM ECC)

Bialyk, P.M. (Leader)

STRATA JOINT SCRUTINY COMMITEE (9 - 3 FROM ECC)

Atkinson, Y.M. Lyons, R.C. Pierce, C.

EXETER HIGHWAYS AND TRAFFIC ORDERS COMMITTEE (13)

(4 City Councillors)

Foggin, O.A. Harvey, D.J. Newby, R.C. Wardle, A.J.

(9 County Councillors)

Ackland, H. Asvachin, M. Atkinson, Y.M. Aves, S. Brennan, E. Hannaford, R.M. Leadbetter, A.R. Prowse, G.R. Whitton, M.C. This page is intentionally left blank