EXETER STRATEGIC BOARD 2018/19

Terms of Reference

Following a review of the work of the Exeter Board, established originally in 2012, it will be renamed as the Exeter Strategic Board and from November 2017 it will be refocussed to enable members to work together in a more strategic and structured way on issues that are not covered in other fora.

As a joint County and City Council committee, the Exeter Strategic Board will provide a forum for County and City Councillors to work together on common Exeter City issues that could not be dealt with by either body in isolation and are not the focus of other committees.

The core membership of the Exeter Strategic Board will be the nine County Councillors for Exeter and five members of the City Council. Representatives from the voluntary, business, health, police, further and higher education, inter-faith communities, community representative and others will be invited to assist the Board as appropriate. Associate members will be invited to participate in Board events when the themes under debate are of relevance/interest to them.

On an annual basis the Exeter Strategic Board will be provided with a strategic analysis setting out needs and issues facing residents to assist Members in agreeing an annual work programme based around key strategic themes of mutual interest or concern that are not dealt with in other fora. The Board will agree the allocation and mechanism for the deployment of the Exeter Board Grant funding in line with the agreed strategic priorities.

The Annual Work Programme will be shared with Associate Members, Community Groups and Special Interest Associations to enable them to identify areas of work they would wish to contribute to through at the themed workshop.

The Exeter Strategic Board will meet four times a year, once for the strategic needs analysis and then for three themed workshops on the topics set out in the annual work plan. Associate Members, Community Groups and Special Interest Associations will be invited to participate in workshops where it makes sense to do so.

The Chair/Deputy Chair of the Exeter Strategic Board will alternate yearly between the City and County Council.

The Board's terms of reference are:

- To share data and information about strategic issues affecting the city.
- To identify an annual work programme around key strategic themes of interest to both City and County Councillors that are not the focus of other groups or committees.
- To take an analytical, evidenced based approach to the examination of the key themes/issues with the aim of identifying priorities for joint action.
- To make recommendations to the City and County Councils about policy or practice that could have a positive impact for the city including opportunities for joint action.
- To contribute to effective partnership working across the City.
- To support and engage with communities and neighbourhoods in identifying priorities and finding ways to meet local needs.
- To enable groups and communities to influence and shape local public services and strategies.
- To allocate community funding to projects of community or citywide relevance.

<u>Membership</u>

Following the formation of the Board in July 2012, it was agreed to invite representatives from the voluntary, business, health, police Further and Higher Education inter-faith and cathedral communities to participate. The full list of associate members is set out below:-

Associate Members

Phil Atwell (Exeter University), Sara Bond (Exeter Chamber of Commerce), Simon Bowkett (Exeter CVS), Gillian Champion (Exeter sub-locality of the Eastern Region New Devon CCG), Superintendent Sam De Reya (Devon and Cornwall Police), The Dean (Exeter Cathedral), Jude Taylorson (Faith Groups), John Laramy (Exeter College), Diana Moore (Exeter Community Forum), Suzanne Tracey (RD & E)

In light of the new terms of reference, it is not proposed to invite some of these groups who have held an associate member place, such as Police, CCG/ Exeter CVS, the University, Exeter College and Co-Lab as they work in other partnerships with the Council such as the Community Safety Partnership, or their remit has changed.

A revised list of Associate members is proposed who will receive minutes but not be invited to meetings. They will, however, be invited to take part in themed meetings as agreed for the annual work programme. These associate members are strategic partners and/or have a role in representing different interest groups in the city. They will include:-

Devon Community Foundation Exeter Community Forum Exeter Community Initiatives Active Devon Interfaith Group Exeter Communities Together LGBTQ Martha Wilkinson Diana Moore Steven Chown Matt Evans Jude Taylorson Faith Stafford (BME Groups) Alan Quick

Board Members are invited to support the way forward and to suggest any other Associate Members.